BGS logoMineralsUK logo

External links: UK Government

BEIS — UK Government Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy and the parent department for the British Geological Survey.

The Coal Authority — Established by Parliament in 1994 to undertake specific statutory responsibilities associated with licensing coal mining operations in Britain, handling subsidence damage claims which are not the responsibility of licensed coal mine operators and providing public access to information on past and present coal mining operations. It holds and is scanning all abandoned mine plans in Britain.

DLUHC — The UK Government Department for Levelling Up, Housing & Communities which is responsible for the minerals planning system and the supply of construction minerals in the UK.

The Crown Estate — They own the mineral rights to a number of quarries and also has prerogative rights to gold and silver in almost all parts of the United Kingdom. These rights are administered by the Crown Mineral Agent at Wardell Armstrong.

DEFRA — The UK Government Department for Environment, Food & Rural Affairs.

Department for the Economy — responsible for the mineral licensing system in Northern Ireland.

Health and Safety Executive (HSE) — Responsible for regulating safe working practices in all industries, including the minerals sector.

Office for National Statistics — Government Department responsible for publishing statistical data for the UK, including mineral production.

The Scottish Government — Elected body which is responsible for much of the internal government of Scotland, including minerals planning.

The Welsh Government — Elected body which is responsible for much of the internal government of Wales, including minerals planning.