ESEF(EW) First Annual Conference

Improving the Effectiveness of Education Resources for Earth Science and Industry

Tuesday 19 October 2004, Conference Room E, 7 Millbank


Programme summary, with links to abstracts and speakers' biographies

Welcome: Professor Allan Rogers, Chair, Earth Science Education Forum for England and Wales

Keynote Speaker: Dr Kim Howells MP, Minister of State for Higher Education

Session 1

Statement of issues and requirements faced by industry, specifically, and the earth sciences more generally

Chair: Rt Hon Kevin Barron MP, Vice-Chair, All-Party Parliamentary Group for Earth Sciences.
Dr Owen Bavinton, Senior Vice-President, Anglo American plc.
Mr Chris Allen, UK Director, HSSE, UK Offshore Operators Association.
Commissioner Joyce Edmond-Smith, Health and Safety Commission.

Session 2

Information resources for earth science education: an opportunity to showcase the resources offered

Chair: Mrs Angela Yeoman OBE, Chair, Foster Yeoman Ltd.
Ms Sarah Gibbons, Science and Mathematics Team, Curriculum Divison, department for Education and Skills.
Mr Chris King, Director, Earth Science Education Unit.
Mr David Weeks, Head of Communications, Hanson Aggregates.
Dr Colin Prosser, Head of Geological Conservation, English Nature.

Session 3

Career opportunities for earth scientists, in aggregates, minerals, petroleum, environment and elsewhere

Chair: Dr David Falvey, Executive Director, British Geological Survey.
Dr David Falvey , Executive Director, British Geological Survey.
Ms Annette Williams, Director, UK Resources Centre for Women in SET.
Mr James Davison, Mining Engineer, Rio Tinto Technology.
Professor Charles Curtis, Head of Research and Development Strategy, UK Nirex Limited.

Session 4

Funding for earth science education

Chair: Lord Sutherland, President, Quarry Products Association.
Professor Peter Styles, President, The Geological Society of London.
Professor Steve Smith, Vice-Chancellor, Exeter University.
Mr Brian Wallace, Chairman of Trustees, Mineral Industries Educational Trust.
Professor Susan Brown, President, Rockwatch and Curry Fund Committee.

Plenary session

Chair: Professor Allan Rogers, Chair, ESEF(EW).
Open discussion.

Summing up and thanks
View the full programme